Sin, the Word of God, and Jesus Christ: Are you on “solid ground”?

The other night, I was speculating and daydreaming on someone’s future. I kept asking God what would happen, and when. I wanted answers. Well, I realized this morning that my speculation and daydreams were my seeking substance, some kind of assurance, about the future–that I wasn’t being deceived. I also realized I was grasping for air and fleeting shadows! This made me doubt God and His Word, which I was treating like shifting sand.

However, God and His Word are real and true, substantial, solid ground, the only firm foundation! I realized that I needed to stand on the Word — what God has given me regarding the person’s future — and stop speculating. So, I wrote down my desires for that person: what God has said will happen, and the Word He gave me. I did this for other desires [for myself and others]. And now I have this sheet in my pocket. Whenever I doubt, I’ll just look at the list!

So do we treat God and his Word like solid ground, like the firm foundation He is? Do we have faith in that solidity? If so, let us stand! God isn’t like jelly, like the waves of the sea! We stand when we hold fast to the Word! God is our support. We stand because He makes us stand. We can’t support ourselves. The devil can try to blow us over, but if we stand on God’s word we won’t fall!

A good friend of mine [the 1st anniversary of our friendship is today] shared the following with me about sin and how it affects our relationship with Jesus Christ–our “solid ground.”

I think you can have three different states:

1- The worst one: You live with sin and don’t “truly” believe or don’t believe at all in God. You’re on the sticky wicket of sin and you want to do everything on your own. Well, you can try by yourself but you will always fall, maybe not directly when you get up again, but after some time trying to walk carefully you will fall again. [Fall = sin again.]

2- The “usual/most of the time” one: you’re still on the sticky wicket of sin but you’re at the limit of the firm ground. And the most important, Jesus is on the firm ground and holds out His hand to you. If you take His hand He will help you stay straight and help you move to the firm ground. But like in “real life” if you suddenly say to Him, “I don’t need Your help now,” you will probably fall again.

3- The “holy” one: You’re “holy” and fully on the firm ground. Sin no longer “affects” you.

So where are you? Are you on solid ground? Are you holding Jesus’s hand? If not, grab His hand! Jesus will lead you to solid ground and make you stand.

FOOD FOR THOUGHT
Numbers 23:19: “God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?” [KJV]

Isaiah 55:10-11: “For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater: So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper [in the thing] whereto I sent it.” [KJV]

Hebrews 11:1: “Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” [KJV]

Leave a Reply

