How the Christian Community Failed Perry Moore

By now everyone knows about the sudden death of Narnia producer Perry Moore, via Oxycontin overdose. Did he commit suicide? I don’t know. Only God does. I pray the full autopsy reveals truth.

The timing of Moore’s death astounds me. Walden Media president Micheal Flaherty will be at the NRB Convention (Nashville, TN) next Sunday, while Lewis’s stepson (and executive producer) Douglas Gresham will be at Liberty University (Lynchburg, VA) the following Monday. Both venues are known for their evangelical standards. I am certain that in the wake of Perry’s death, all eyes will be on Flaherty and Gresham. What will they say about him?

Why do I even ask this? Because more than one news report, and quite a few Narnia friends, called Perry a “gay Christian.” The man was openly gay, living with a “partner.” Yet they think Perry went to heaven, to Aslan’s country. But he didn’t. I know with certainty in my heart that he went to hell.

The tragedy is that Perry thought he was a Christian, with no thought of hell. He probably believed he couldn’t change, or didn’t need to, for God to accept him and take him to heaven.

The Christian community – the Christians he met on the Narnia sets and worked with and went to church with – failed Perry Moore. They didn’t have the moral courage to stand up for the truth, to say to Perry, “You can’t be gay and be a Christian.” They didn’t tell him that unless he repented and changed, unless he was born again, he wouldn’t go to heaven but to hell.

What’s frightening is that the Christians surrounding Perry probably believe the same thing he did. They, along with countless other Christians and churches and homosexuals, have believed the lie – straight from the pit of hell – that one can be gay and be a Christian. One can’t change or doesn’t have to change for God to accept that person into heaven. These people have made the way to heaven broad and wide, instead of straight and narrow. There’s no mention of holiness. They may not even believe in it.

Yet I also failed Perry Moore. I wanted him to get saved, marry, and have a family. I wanted Perry to be a shining example of how God can transform a homosexual. But that didn’t happen. God took him. Why? I failed Perry because I didn’t pray for him. I had hopes, dreams, and wishes – but I didn’t pray. Salvation doesn’t happen by osmosis. We can’t just wish and hope for something. We must pray. Because there comes a point when God says it’s too late. I guess he decided Perry had had enough opportunities to repent, so he took him – straight to hell.

  1. I pray God humiliates “Christian” Narnia. I pray he wakes them up to truth and holiness.
  2. I pray God clears up the moral confusion, once and for all, regarding homosexuality and salvation.
  3. I pray God lets the church and Narnians (cast, crew, fans) proclaim the truth – loud and clear so that all can hear it – that one can’t be gay and be a Christian. He or she has to change – be born again (transformed) from above by water and the Spirit.
  4. I pray God saves a homosexual in the media, leading him or her to marry and raise a family – and proclaim the same truth that one can’t be a “gay Christian.” I pray God shows the world what he can do!

If you want more information on homosexuality and the new birth/transformation, check out my notes “The Necessity of the New Birth” and “Homosexuality: A Crisis in the Church and in Western Culture.”

PS. If you want to argue with me, go ahead. But I won’t respond to comments. Argue it out among yourselves.

28 thoughts on “How the Christian Community Failed Perry Moore

  1. I almost starting crying when I read this… it is so true. You are a very good writer and it is clear that you love God dearly.

    • Wow. Thank you for the praise. But I really don’t deserve it. Someone did point out to me that maybe Gresham or someone else did speak to Perry – and he rejected them. And we don’t know Perry’s final hours, do we? We must pray in faith for everyone – and have compassion for sinners.

  2. “Not that which goeth into the mouth defileth a man; but that which cometh out of the mouth, this defileth a man.”

    That’s all I have to say to your Pharisaical nonsense. You are not the granter of God’s grace. Christ died for sinners, for harlots, for publicans, for the offscouring of all things. He died for everyone, not just for those who confirm their self-righteousness with easy virtues.

    • This is not Pharisaical nonsense. Did you even read what I said? I never said Jesus didn’t die for sinners. Of course Jesus died for Perry. But did Perry accept that sin payment on his behalf and become a new person? Did he change from the inside out? No. And his homosexual behavior is evidence of that.

  3. What causes homosexuality? God does. God creates gay men and lesbians in His own image just as He does heterosexual men and women. Perry Moore was a dear friend of mine and to read this posting tonight broke my heart. Go ahead and dismiss me with the same hatred – not love – that coursed through this posting. It amazes me how some people can take Christ’s teachings and use it to justify their own human bigotry. It is just such people who – if Jesus were walking among us today and surrounding Himself with the same motley sorts He purposefully chose to surround Himself with when He was here – would also cast judgment on Him just as the Pharisees did. I think it is those who think they have superior sanctity on this earth who will be the most surprised when they die and face The Creator for they lack that most profound of Christian precepts: empathy. It is the reason God created Jesus to walk this earth among us. Heaven is going to be hell for you and your ilk when you realize who you will be walking among there, that is if your sanctimoniousness doesn’t serve as the one sanction that can not be overcome for entry.

    • God does NOT cause homosexuality. God does NOT cause sin. He doesn’t condone it either. I think you refuse to recognize homosexuality as sexual sin, which goes blatantly against the clear teachings of the Bible. People are born with sin, both a sin nature and specific sins, but they can change spiritually when they become true, Bible-believing, born-again Christians. You refuse to acknowledge that possibility. So did Perry – to his eternal loss. I don’t hate Perry. I never did. I wanted him to change spiritually, to be born again and become straight [which is possible – hundreds of other homosexuals have changed through Jesus Christ alone]. When Perry died, I cried – because I knew it was too late for him and that he died believing a lie. I am convinced that the lie that God accepts homosexuals as they are and doesn’t think they need to change has sent millions of people to hell.

    • God didn’t create homosexuality. Homosexuality came into the world when Adam disobeyed God. Just a thought. But I do agree that this post thing may have gotten a bit overboard. No one is to judge whether someone will go to hell or not based on who they are; whether it’s gender, race, or sexual preference. Only God knows. Let’s leave it at that, shall we? 🙂

      • You’re right. God doesn’t create sin. But he did create sinners, each with specific sins. God knew what each of us would struggle with before we were born – He also determines whether or not we overcome it through Jesus. Vessels of mercy, vessels of wrath. We can’t judge who will go to hell. God does that. Yet God outlines sins in the Bible that will send us to hell. They include homosexuality. It’s not sexual preference. It’s sexual deviance. You cannot compare it to gender or race. People born sinners can change. So can those born gay.

  4. Perry was a friend of mine too – when I read this posting initially, I sat and cried. I cried at the thought of my mentor burning in hell. But then I realized something – I remembered all that Perry had taught me. What his faith in Christ and the strength he gained through his homosexuality taught me. I am a Christian – I was born a Christian, raised that way, and have lived that way – but I am also a homosexual. I think the only person, the ONLY PERSON who can actively condemn a homosexual Christian, is a homosexual Christian – and I will tell you that is the LAST thing I will ever do. No one but a true gay man or woman can know that the emotional and sexual desires that come with that lifestyle are 100% uncontrollable. Can they be stifled? Submerged and ignored? Yes they can – and those are the successes (the pray the gay away successes) that are visible – Christian teachings have the ability to smother homosexuals and force them into hiding. The negative stigma associated with queerness, especially in the religious sphere is abhorrible. I love Christ, and I have accepted him – and I am a homosexual, and I have accepted that as well. I spent the majority of my teenage years contemplating suicide because I could not understand why a God, MY God, would put me on this earth, programmed to live a life that would send me straight to hell. How any path I chose that could lead me to happiness would end with eternal damnation. Therefore, and this was with Perry’s help, I came to the conclusion that maybe I’m meant to be this way. The bible teaches love – love above anything else. And if love through homosexual courtship is how I am going to be happy – than I’m going to take it. If I pursue a life that goes against who I KNOW I am, than I’m not going to be happy. If I’m not happy, how am I going to lead others to Christ? How am I going to inspire people? I do not condone the homosexuality that finds its way into the public spotlight. I condone the homosexuality that comes down to the physical and emotional desire to be with someone of the same sex. I miss Perry dearly, and I love him for what he was able to teach me before his untimely passing. I KNOW hell is not where that man is standing. If he loved and accepted Christ as he told me he did, than he is standing in Heaven with our Father right now, crying over his unfinished work and the bigotry and naivete of the people on this earth, especially the Christians, who won’t remove their blinders and see that empathetical love far outweighs their isolated understanding of who and what gets to pass through the Pearly Gates.

    • I’m sorry for you. I really am.

      1. You cannot be born a Christian, or raised as one. No one can. Everyone is born a sinner, both gay and straight. You have to be born again in order to be a Christian.

      2. Gays can change. They have changed. And not by suppressing their desires, but by God changing them from the inside out. When gays truly change (are changed by God) and are born again, they don’t want to be gay or practice homosexuality anymore. The desire itself leaves. Best examples: Christian singers and songwriters Dennis Jernigan and Donnie McClurkin.

      Please check out these Facebook pages (with their respective websites).

      Exodus International
      Love Won Out
      The Bible Condemns Sodomy
      The Bible is against homosexuality

      Also check out these websites. The latter was created by a former homosexual. He can testify of God’s grace, of God changing him from the inside out so that the homosexual desires leave.

      HopeforHomosexuals.com
      New Hope Ministries

  5. I explained something inaccurately, I did not mean I was born a Christian. I was born into a Christian household, and I embraced Christianity at a young age. I have profound memories of accepting Christ into my heart, and renewing those vows on many occasions. I believe the true essence of Christianity is a recommittal of oneself as one traverses the gauntlet that is our time here on Earth.

    I understand and appreciate your fervor, and thank you for responding to my post.

    • You’re welcome. But consider this: the true essence of Christianity is bringing God glory, and in becoming like Him, by denying oneself / dying to oneself (will, desires, the flesh, etc). This is why we were created.

      Last night I thought about what you said, about your desires for someone of the same sex. This is flawed reasoning. Just because we desire something does not make that desire good for us, especially if we try to fulfill it. The desire isn’t good if it doesn’t bring God glory either. People can desire wrong things. We are born morally flawed, with a sinful nature and desires. They are human, which makes them flawed. God’s desires alone are good because He alone is good. We are not. We must daily become like God. We must daily change. God alone does not change. He doesn’t need to.

      The Bible states clearly that homosexuality is morally wrong, a sin deserving of death (like all sin). It is also biologically unclean. Homosexuals get diseases that others don’t. I once heard Pastor Tommy Bates say that the anus is the filthiest part of the body, where certain germs collect, and that God designed it as a place of exit (human waste) – not a place of entrance. This makes anal sex between a married man and woman also wrong. I suggest you study homosexuality from a biological/scientific angle. Do this with all forms of sex – vaginal, anal, oral, masturbation. Vaginal is the only proper type; all other forms are both biologically unclean and morally wrong. God designed sex for a man and a woman to make babies. The main (not only) purpose of sex is procreation, because God wants godly seed (spiritual sons and daughters).

      I’m beginning to think God does make people gay, at least some are born that way (not all are – some are taught). I believe people are born with specific sins, just like they’re born with a sinful nature. In other words, I believe people can be born gay (or another type of sexual deviance), just like they can be born thieves or alcoholics. Exodus 4:11: “Who has made man’s mouth? Or makes the dumb, or deaf, or the seeing, or the blind? Have not I the Lord?” Deuteronomy 32:39: “I kill and I make alive; I wound and I heal, neither is there any that can deliver out of my hand.” However, being born gay still doesn’t make homosexuality acceptable. It is still a sin, as the Bible teaches. And the wages of sin is death, whatever that sin is (Romans 6:23).

      So why does God make some people gay? John 9:2-3: “The disciples asked him, saying, ‘Master, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?’ Jesus answered, ‘Neither has this man sinned, nor his parents, but that the works of God should be made manifest in him.’” What were these works of God? First, the man was healed of his physical blindness and was now able to see; second, he believed in Jesus as the Son of God and received spiritual sight. God makes people physically and morally handicapped, so he can receive glory in healing them – both physically and spiritually. Homosexuality is a moral handicap, a spiritual blindness. God will receive glory only from your spiritual transformation.

    • I thought of something else. Sinners sin. They can’t help themselves. They can’t deny the sinful nature they’re born with, however it manifests itself in specific sins, or overcome it on their own. This is true with every form of sexual deviance and addiction, with all types of sin. So what does being born gay really mean? Just this: gay people can’t change on their own. They can’t stifle their desires or deny who they are. It may work for a time, but not in the end.

      However, this isn’t what Christianity is [neither is it renewing vows]. This isn’t how God works. Instead, he makes us die to ourselves so that we’re born a new person from within. God changes us spiritually on the inside, the result being that our desires and will radically change. The new power to deny the flesh and sin comes from the Holy Spirit, placed within us when we’re born again; this is the only way to overcome sin. Dying to oneself = spiritual baptism. Metaphorically you sink under the water, you drown and die, and then God brings you back up a new person.

      Something else: Once you’re born again you have to get into the river of the Holy Spirit [Ezekiel 47]. After that, you’ll be able to do things you didn’t think were possible and you’ll do other things better than before. This is what happened to Pastor Tommy Bates as a teenager. He couldn’t control his sinful nature. One day he cried out to God, “I need the Holy Ghost!” Then he got into the river of the Spirit. Tommy hasn’t been the same since. His desires and will radically changed. He now loves what he once hated, and now hates what he once loved.

      You have to come to terms with this: 1. Homosexuality isn’t God’s will for you. 2. There is nothing you can do to change your sexuality (or stop sinning). Only God can change it (and you). 3. You have to believe God is able and willing to do this for/in you, because he loves you.

      FYI: The story of Lazarus in John 11 is just like the blind man in John 9. Jesus told his disciples that Lazarus’s sickness was for the glory of God, that the Son of God might be glorified. And how did that happen? 1. Jesus brought Lazarus back from the dead. 2. When people saw this miracle they believed in Jesus.

  6. Lily,

    I realize you think you know what you’re talking about. But, in reality, you don’t. It’s unfortunate that your religious bigotry has consumed you. You really need to ask for forgiveness, because you’re not coming off as very Christian.

    And if you think a gay person can change, you are hopelessly wrong.

    I will pray that you can come to terms with your bigotry.

    • 1. Gays can change. I gave two examples in an above comment. Also check out 1 Corinthians 6:9-10: “Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators … nor effeminate [homosexuals], nor abusers of themselves with mankind [sodomites] … shall inherit the kingdom of God. And such WERE some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus and by the Spirit of our God.”

      2. Gays can’t change on their own. They have to be born again. See my above comments, plus this post. https://220lily.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/the-necessity-of-the-new-birth/

      Your problem is that you’re leaving God out of the equation. NOTHING is impossible with God, not even transforming a homosexual into a heterosexual (chaste and pure).

  7. I hope you know you’re a vile excuse for a human being spouting such filth. Do you think you’re on some mission from God, that he’d be proud you dirty his name with your words?

    Do you know Jesus bestowed a gay man, as a man of “great faith”? It’s right there in Matthew 8:5-13. Surely you’re familiar with the story of the centurion?

    Well, the Greek used for servant in Matthew’s account is “pais” which can also mean “male lover”, whilst elsewhere, he uses “duolos” to refer to an ordinary servant.
    Why would a Centurion care so much for his servant, surely such love runs deeper.

    You can be a Christian and gay. Who are you to sully another’s relationship with God?

    Perry Moore was a far greater person than you could ever dream to be. I can assure you of that.

    • Have you lost your mind? The centurion was NOT gay. Pais never means “male lover.” It’s not a romantic term at all! According to BlueLetterBible.org pais actually means this:

      1) a child, boy or girl
      a) infants, children
      2) servant, slave
      a) an attendant, servant, spec. a king’s attendant, minister

      In the KJV it’s translated this: servant 10, child 7, son (Christ) 2, son 1, manservant 1, maid 1, maiden 1, young man 1.

      Do you see “lover”? NO! The centurion cared greatly for his servant. But that love was pure – phileo, agape. It wasn’t eros at all. There are much deeper loves than anything romantic. Don’t romanticize every relationship. Recognize the value of servant/master, friend, family. Don’t use the Bible to condone homosexuality either. You’re reading it wrong! The Bible is clear that homosexuality is wrong [I list all the verses here] and that those who participate in such behavior will go to hell. You cannot be gay and be a Christian!

      • I can assure you I have not lost my mind. I’ve never once lost it, or allowed someone else to control it.

        A censored google search will not satisfy your argument. Looking to those that agree with you may be easier, but it isn’t right.

        One cannot overlook the context in which a word was used. For centuries, Greek literature used “pais” to refer to the younger partner in a same-sex relationship.

        If you still refuse this indisputable fact of lexis, know this usage has been validated by one of Oxford University’s great authorities on Ancient Greece, Sir Kenneth J. Dover.

        If you are denying this, then you must also class Matthew and Luke as ignorant. Then if they’re ignorant, how can you then accept the rest of their writing?

        I do not attempt to rectify your distorted views on homosexuality. I hope you’ll one day come to realise the error of your ways on your own, or that God can forgive you for your hatred. Because I will not.
        Yet, your views in this article are horrifically barbaric. You CAN be gay and Christian. The bible never explicitly forbids homosexuality – Though I suppose you still eat pork (Leviticus 11:8), wear gold or expensive clothes (Timothy 2:9), and eat shellfish (Leviticus 11:10) which it preaches against?

        Once again, I’m horrified at your slur to Perry Moore’s name, and believe it despicable you attack a dead man who cannot defend himself. Yet I shall always be there to defend him.

      • Titus 1:15: “Unto the pure all things are pure, but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure, but even their mind and conscience is defiled.” This perfectly describes you. You refuse the real probability that the centurion’s relationship with his servant is a pure master / servant one because your mind is impure. You try to bring eros into every relationship. You’re like the man walking in the counsel of the ungodly and standing in the way of sinners, only now you’re sitting in the seat of the scornful (Psalm 1:1). God tells me not to rebuke scorners. So my reply will be brief.

        You’re ignorant of the law which exposes your sins (Romans 3:20). As a result you’re ignorant of God’s righteousness (Romans 10:3). So you try to establish your own righteousness and make up your own rules. You think you know better than God. You think he’s like you. Wrong! He’s not. The distance and difference between you and God is like that between heaven and earth (Isaiah 55:8-9). God doesn’t change. He said homosexuality was a sin worthy of death in the Old and New Testaments [read the verses in this blog post]. Look at the mirror of your soul, the Word (James 1:22-25). What does it say about you and God? Start pointing the finger at yourself. You’re blind; repent of pride and buy eye-salve from Jesus (Revelation 3:20).

  8. You are all sick. God is Love and he loves everyone-gay, straight, black, white-whatever. To condemn this man just because you say homosexuality is wrong is ridiculous. I know that Perry lives in Heaven. I am a psychic and I have spoken to him and he is alive and well and with God in his Heaven. God loves him as he does all people who believe in him. Spend more time saving yourselves rather than condemning others.

    • Yes, God is love and he loves everyone. But that doesn’t mean God condones sin. He doesn’t. And homosexuality is sin. The whole Bible makes that plain. You refuse to believe God hates sin and he must punish it. You don’t know or believe in a holy God. I don’t care if you are psychic (itself a sin called witchcraft which God will punish!). Is Perry in heaven? No.

  9. I was shocked when reading this but I should not have been. I am a Christian and I am a sinner, just like you and every other human being on this Earth. You DO NOT and NEVER will have enough knowledge to say whether or not this man is in Heaven! You saying this man is not is a greater sin then any he committed! Anyone who professes to have this knowledge is not a follower of Jesus Christ. NOT ONE OF US has the capability of knowing who Our Father judges, which is why when Jesus came upon them stoning the woman they believed to have committed adultery, he wrote their sins in the dirt and then asked for those without sin to cast the first stone. People like you are the reason so many people are not saved. They don’t trust Christians because of the hypocrisy and judgement! Jesus left us with 2 commandments “Love God with your whole heart and you whole soul” and “Love each other as I have loved you.” Satan became satan because he thought he knew as much as God. As far as I’m concerned, your words come from evil and not the love of God.

    • If he didn’t change spiritually, if he didn’t confess homosexuality as sin, then I can say with confidence that he went to hell rather than heaven. I seriously doubt Perry Moore was ever a Christian. He chose to believe lies. His lifestyle was ample evidence of that. You can’t be gay and be a Christian. I will say this until Jesus returns!

  10. I just stumbled on this website and found it interesting. I am a Christian and know gay Christians. I accept ALL PEOPLE because that’s what God calls us to do. Beloved Lily, your views are the reason some of our teens and young adults are committing suicide. I don’t think that’s God’s plan for them. I think God calls us to love each other unconditionally – period. You have no right to say anyone is going to hell.

    • “Gay Christian” is an oxymoron. God doesn’t call us to accept all people but to love them with the gospel of truth = salvation in Jesus if we repent of and turn away from sin. I don’t know what gospel you believe or what Jesus you say you know but it doesn’t line up with the Bible! Salvation in Jesus is a conditional covenant of love. God loves everyone unconditionally. But that won’t keep them from hell. He loves his children conditionally. Only they will see heaven.

  11. I feel sorry for you if you believe He loves His children conditionally. You are missing out on a lot. Only God knows what’s in people’s hearts and he hears us without us having to say it. You don’t know what was in this man’s heart. Jesus took on our sins, YOURS and MINE, and was punished. Something He did not deserve. And now we are saved from death and given grace, something WE do not deserve. You say “Gay Christian” is an oxymoron?? I would say that, given your beliefs and your judgement on who and who does not get into Heaven, you calling yourself a Christian is a lie because in doing so, you have expressed beliefs opposite to what Christ taught us. We are all sinners and not one of us are able to judge. “Why do you see the speck in your neighbor’s eye when you cannot see the plank in your own?” I hope and pray that you come to know Christ and get to experience the joy of knowing Grace because it is a wonderful thing you are missing out on!

Leave a Reply

