The Man I Want to Marry

Ioan Gruffudd – William Wilberforce

. . . is a conservative Christian intellectual with many interests (academic degrees unnecessary). He likes music, movies, history, and literature.

. . . loves God and people with his whole heart, and humbly serves them. He loves, blesses, and prays for strangers and enemies, too, not just his friends.

. . . sees as God sees = the heart, not the outer package. He isn’t superficial. (1 Samuel 16:7)

. . . dresses his soul more richly than his body.

. . . has radical faith that moves mountains. He’s a water walker, not a boat person! He loves “Facing the Giants” (2006) and “Faith like Potatoes” (2006). He understands who God is and how He works.

Frank Rautenbach – Angus Buchan

. . . has the integrity, passion, and purity of William Tyndale (c.1494-1536), “God’s Outlaw” (1986) ; William Wilberforce (1759-1833), “Amazing Grace” (2006); Frederick Aiken (1837-1878), “The Conspirator” (2011); and Angus Buchan (1947-), “Faith Like Potatoes” (2006).

. . . has the compassion, patience, and kindness of Colonel Brandon, “Sense & Sensibility” (2008), and David McCune, “Follow the Stars Home” (2001).

. . . is wise and mature, with a clean sense of fun.

James McAvoy – Frederick Aiken

. . . loves to look at my face as if it were cold, refreshing ice cream on a hot summer day. Yet he loves my heart, mind, and soul more than my body. Appearances aren’t everything!

. . . would die rather than see me crying or in pain.

. . . would follow me into a women’s restroom if he thought I were sick or upset.

. . . loves my pregnant belly. He’ll rub my feet, place his head on my tummy, and sing to our baby. He’ll read the Bible and pray over our little one too!

. . . is a patient, caring father who will rear our children “in the nurture and admonition of the Lord” (Ephesians 6:4, KJV). He’ll know when to hold on and when to let go.

CONCLUSION

Does such a man exist? If God has put this desire in my heart, surely he does. Yet I also have to be the woman this man wants to marry, which means God has a lot of work to do!

Some people think we shouldn’t make a list of desirable traits in a future spouse. But why not? We know God wants his best for us in everything. That includes marriage. If I’m going to give my body to my future husband in sex (which is a serious act of love), if my children are going to have his DNA, if I’m going to live with him for the rest of our lives, then I want the best!

My fear is that too many people settle for less than God’s best in a spouse. Then they wonder why they’re unhappy or how the marriage has ended in divorce. Did they pray enough, seeking God’s will? Did they look earnestly for Mr. or Ms. Right? Did they desire God’s best? I don’t know.

I still believe we singles should make a list. We should know what we want in a future spouse. Marriage and parenting are too important for us just to wish that some day we’ll find the right person.

12 thoughts on “The Man I Want to Marry

  1. Hi Kelly thanks for the follow on Image breakers .I am following you on twitter and shall visit to read more of your blogs..
    Live the amazing Life,
    Paul!

  2. Impressive list! It sounds like you’ve already found this perfect man: Jesus! God bless you and take heart; I am sure He knows exactly what you’re in need of. Thanks for the visit!

    • Thanks, chief. Yes, Jesus is the perfect man. I’m still trying to find someone like him on this earth. Maybe he’s someone full of holiness and purity born out of sin and rebellion – like me?

  3. just checking out your blog. I own the movie Amazing Grace starring Ioan Gruffudd – as William Wilberforce. How ironic. It’s one of my top 10 favorite movies of all time. I majored in History at university and my focus was American History not bad for a Canadian eh? God Bless

    • Yes, I’m American. I didn’t think the Brits brought it but maybe they did. Either way it went back to the 1500s – don’t forget Europe (the Dutch).

    • I don’t want to be antagonistic. I just don’t understand your line of reasoning or why you’re pointing out any of this. By the way, my strength is British history and literature, not American. I’m an Anglophile.

    • I see. Thank you.

      Have you seen other movies with Ioan Gruffudd? Check out the Hornblower series. I love all six movies. I’ve also seen “The Forsyte Saga” but I don’t recommend it.

      I’m curious. Why did you study American history? Is Canadian boring? I know so little of it. I think American-Canadian ties (history, culture, etc) are interesting.

Leave a Reply

