Heavenly Desires

jesus christ woman at the wellI don’t know what others want, but I know what I want.

My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, and to finish his work. ~ John 4:34

I asked God for the world a few years ago. And I wasn’t referring to money, land, stuff, or power. I want godly influence over people. I want to claim their souls for heaven. I want to see people change spiritually. I want to see the divine magic of the new birth transform them as they repent and believe. This is the stuff of my fantasies.

How many other people want this? Few, very few. So why are they content with silly, useless things like money, stuff, power, and fame? These things don’t give me any joy (although I love music). I learned to be content without them a long time ago. God promises us that if we delight in him, he will give us the desires of our hearts (Psalm 37:4). I need to seek God if I’m going to receive what I want from him. I need heavenly desires.

3 thoughts on “Heavenly Desires

  1. I just noticed you are now following my blog – “A Way With Words”. I’m grateful you were drawn into my corner of the blogosphere and pray you are inspired by my words to discover more of God’s Word. Thanks again for following my blog. I’ll be following yours as well. Perhaps we can encourage each other on our faith journey.

Leave a Reply

