Divine Authority: Hearing and Obeying the Voice of God

On Palm Sunday two years ago, God spoke the following words to a Pentecostal congregation, through a message in tongues and an interpretation. I read it online later. It has been two years, yet I still remember these words as though they were spoken yesterday.

I am swiftly moving to discipline my people my children and my church. Know this.You are living in the day when evil is called good and good is called evil. Ready yourselves, for I discipline those I love.

You have a desire for me to move, you ask for my spirit, you long for my presence. Yet you purpose your will. How long will you eat the bread of whoremongers? How long will you drink the blood of thieves? Know me in the power of my resurrection and what I have done for you, saith the Lord. I chasten those that are mine as I’ve asked those closest to me before, ‘What? Could you not stay awake with me and watch one hour?’ I am asking thee, even now, could you not stay awake and watch with me this final hour of the church?

Awake those that sleep, arise from the dead, hear and understand. For unto those who have kept the oil in their lamps fear not, for you shall tread upon serpents and scorpions. No demon in hell will be able to stand against you. I will pour the light of my spirit upon you and give you divine truth. Look steadfastly to me, spiritually discern and listen, I will show you the way, saith God.

Church of the living God, you have been given the Holy Spirit. What a precious gift, what a precious gift he is, but such a gift is only viable if you believe and receive it. Know me, draw near to me. I have much more than enough to give you. I am more than enough to sustain you. Keep the oil in your lamp. Let no man deceive you with vain words. Know my holy word and you will not be led to the darkness of this present hour, says the Lord God Almighty.

holy spirit word doveWhat struck me when I first read this was authority, divine authority. It’s the same authority Jesus had when he gave his Sermon on the Mount (Matthew 7:29, Mark 1:22) and when he drove out unclean spirits (Mark 1:27, Luke 4:36). “What is the chaff to the wheat? says the LORD. Is not My word like a fire? says the LORD, and like a hammer that breaks the rock in pieces?” (Jeremiah 23:28-29, NKJV)

I don’t have divine authority, but I want it – just like the prophets of old. I want the prophetic office, the anointed word both written and spoken. I want my words to be like fire and like a hammer. If I am to receive what I want, I must seek God with my whole heart. I must also take the old prophets as my mentors (James 5:10).

What grieves me is that no one else has divine authority either. I’ve read and heard many good sermons in the past five years, but none compared to this. It doesn’t matter whether the person in question is living or dead. I never encountered such authority before I read these words. Not A. W. Tozer (d. 1963), or John Piper (Minneapolis). Not The RAMP (Hamilton, Alabama) or Remnant Rising (Waxahatchie, Texas). Not Tommy Bates (Independence, Kentucky) or Mitchell Tolle (Lexington, Kentucky). Not even the online blogs I follow. No one.

man-listening-hand-to-earHow does the Word convey divine authority with some and not others? Preaching, teaching, and evangelizing are not enough. I know from years of witnessing experience that sharing the Word is not enough. Neither is reading it, silently or aloud. We must have divine authority when we speak the Word. We must have divine anointing! Otherwise the Word will fall on deaf ears and people will continue in their sins – unrepentant.

God said the days are coming when there will be a famine of “hearing the words of the Lord” (Amos 8:11, NKJV). I finally know what that means. It’s not a famine of preaching or teaching God’s Word, but of speaking the Word with authority. Anointing is the real famine. Only anointing can break hearts in repentance and bring the spiritually dead back to life.

Subconsciously, we seem to know this. We run to and fro seeking the anointed word of God, knowing it will make believers labor in the fields white with harvest (John 4:35) and bring sinners into the fold, but we do not find it (Amos 8:12). The believers play while the sinners drop into hell, all because the word of God is not preached with anointing.

Oh, Jesus! There’s a famine in the land, not of bread but of hearing the anointed word of the Lord. Give us rain from heaven to end this drought! Send us anointed prophets who will preach the word with fire and hammers. Make us prophets ourselves by breaking our cold, dead hearts and bringing us to life again. We need to hear and receive the anointed word. We need to feel and be consumed by your fire. We need to be broken, God. Send us rain.

Leave a Reply

