Just Say No

Illegal-DrugsThe unbelieving world tells people to “just say no” to drugs. So why doesn’t the church tell believers to “just say no” to the world? Christians should say “yes” to Jesus. They should also say “no” to the world, the flesh, and the devil. As wicked as these things are today, that “no” list should be miles long. A short list only questions the reality of a Christian’s conversion.

A friend told me a few years ago that he struggled with secular music, having given away some CDs. Then he decided that the struggle wasn’t worth it. Now he listens to secular music often, believing a person can find the gospel there if he tries. Another friend told me this week that he doesn’t think secular music is inherently evil and that one can find the gospel in it. Huh?

Secular lyrics are often laced with drugs, sex, and foul language. I’ve heard hundreds of secular songs (pop, classical) in the past 25 years and I have yet to find one that contains the gospel. Only Christian music can make that claim, which is why I’ve completely given up secular music – unlike many of my “Christian” friends. So-called “Christian” rock is no better. It’s cultural heathenism and worldliness in disguise, a refusal to “just say no.”

panning for goldLooking for the gospel in secular culture (books, films, and music) is like sinners panning for gold downstream. Christians have traveled upstream to the mother lode, where Jesus is. They don’t bother to pan anymore. So why would any Christian leave that lode of gold, the presence of Jesus Christ, and travel back downstream to pan for a few nuggets? The idea is nonsense.

Sadly, many Christians have swallowed this nonsense. Some have given up their internal struggles with the world, flesh, and devil. Others have decided that there is no struggle, believing they can coexist in peace. As a result, the visible church is turning to heathenism. Whole denominations are embracing the occult and homosexuality – becoming apostate – while hardcore homosexuals and drug addicts are turning to Jesus in droves. Wine, women, and awards shows fill the mouths of some church-reared Christians while Jesus and evangelism fill the mouths of ex-gay converts. Jesus is still in the business of saving people from sin. Now he needs to save the church.

temptation-jesus-satan-devilCoexistence is a demonic lie, a Satanic deception. The Holy Spirit and the flesh are “contrary to one another,” each lusting for the believer’s soul (Galatians 5:17). Satan is the ruler of this world, whom Jesus judged through the cross (Matthew 4:8-9, John 12:31, 14:30, 16:11; 2 Corinthians 4:4, Ephesians 2:2, 1 John 3:8). He is our spiritual adversary and we must resist him (Ephesians 4:27, 6:11; James 4:7, 1 Peter 5:8-9). No wonder that “friendship with the world is enmity with God” (James 4:4)! Those who want to be friends with it are called spiritual adulterers (4:4). We must not love the world or be conformed to it (Romans 12:2, 1 John 2:15-17). This wicked world, subject to Satan, hates Christians because it hates Jesus (John 1:10, 7:7, 15:18-25, 17:14-16; 1 John 3:13, 5:19). In light of these things, why would any Christian love or befriend the world? The idea is nonsense.

The Christian’s internal struggle is real. We must overcome the world, flesh, and devil if we want to enter heaven. Every day we must plead the blood of Jesus, in worship and prayer, and share our testimonies of God’s saving grace (Revelation 12:11). Eternal victory is ours, but we can win only through the Spirit’s power (Romans 8:1-14, Galatians 5:16-25, Ephesians 6:10-17). Therefore, let us humble ourselves in repentance and draw near to Jesus (James 4:8-10).

12 thoughts on “Just Say No

  1. I have been preaching against halloween, christmas, ester, yoga, and many other cult pagan things which Christians seem to adhere to like its their precious. I have been told to get an education, stop telling people there worshiping the devil, told I need to learn to preach a loving God, and told to just go somewhere else to preach.

    People have told me they were in Church before I was born, they have given more to God then I would ever, and they know where they are going so I should stop the hatred.

    It hurts when you tell people there living in lies as they will covet those lies and call them Jesus. I grew up where they told the truth. Where a preacher told ya you were living in sin to your face and you knew it. I do not preach hate, but what is truly loving your neighbor? To truly love someone as you love yourself you must first tell them the truth and stop lying to them and allowing them to teach themselves false doctrine. If we are to truly live as Jesus taught then we mist warn those of the fire on their feet.

    I was on the other side many years so I know how he deals. I played music and I know first hand when your possessed and sing into the mic the recording hears the demons around you. The so called back masking is not record companies, its what you hear from the devils around the mic. I sung songs and we played them back, there was alot of bad on there.

    You can not find Jesus in the world because Jesus was not part of this world nor does he live in it. The kingdom of God is in heaven. When he returns he will restore this earth and us to our pure form. But here and now this is not our home nor is Jesus in this world.

    We need more then ever to teach the true doctrine. The true doctrine comes from Jesus through the KJV Bible. Textus receptus. We also need more people like you who write truth. Thank you for your service. In Jesus name.

    • I’m humbled. Thank you! “You can not find Jesus in the world because Jesus was not part of this world nor does he live in it. The kingdom of God is in heaven.” AMEN!

      I have to admit, I don’t have any problems with celebrating Christmas (non-shopping version) and Easter (Greek for ‘Passover’). I’m not KJV only either, although I use it for Bible study. I prefer citing NKJV on my blog.

      • Easter was ishtar. Passover is passover. Passover was not celebrated along with the pagan alternative and not until constantine it was celebrated along with as the substitute. I read alot of people who quote from alternatives to Gods word. When you get down to the search in scripture every other version after the KJV has neutered the word of God. John 3:16 is the only Begotten son. Jesus was not Gods only son. As we are sons after we accept Christ and we were sons before the fall. Angels were also sons of God. But begotten means from one self as read in the gospel of John 1:1. Jesus was wholly God and wholly man. I am glad you use it for Bible study but the word is power and if you understand it through the Holy Ghost then it has conviction. The world is not meant to nor ever understands the word. Onky the Holy Ghost understands the word that is why there must be a preacher. Romans tells us
        10: 14 How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher?
        So quoting anything but the true word will not save anyone. There must be a preachert to understand the word and teach others.
        Celebrating Christmas is also a pagan tradition. Now i have nothing wrong with celebrating the birth of Jesus even tho it most likly wasnt in december, its ok to celebrate that portion. But the tree, sant claus, and all other things going with it is pagan. Especially shopping, as it has become the idol to the day. Where gradification has replaced the meaning. But thats another day and another topic. I thank you for allowing me to post and thank you for your reply. Keep up the good work.

      • I agree on preaching. I don’t like the pagan elements in Christmas either. I just focus on Jesus. No tree (etc) for me.

        However … “Esther,” not Easter, is the word that means Ishtar (Persian for ‘star’). http://www.blueletterbible.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?Strongs=H635 Easter (Greek) = Passover (Hebrew). It is a translation, just like Joshua (Hebrew) = Jesus (Greek). Pascha is called “Passover” 28 times in the New Testament and “Easter” once, in Acts 12:4. http://www.blueletterbible.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?Strongs=G3957

      • I have read that also but the true meaning of Easter can be found here. Translation or not once does not convince me it was a standard. As the Bible shows us by two or three we must prove. I don’t think they mis translated the word either. Thanks for your reply and were both on the same page. But the bunnies and chickens and eggs are pagan. Here is a link to a source also. I feel the easter was talking about the pagan festival and not talking about passover which is used. As God would know the meaning it would entail to use a word for a pagan ritual on his holy name of the crucifixion which the passover demonstrates.but we could argue that point forever as there is many books both ways on the subject. I also celebrate it only as Jesus and without the pagan portions. My meaning to show people was how to get the world out of the Christian life. Getting them to see the difference takes the Holy Ghost. Thank you for your time and I thank you for the research as I also went and found the definitions as to where your conclusion came on the subject also. I love to learn and I also have been found to be wrong from time to time. I know by the Lord we all sharpen each other like iron sharpens iron.

        http://www.lasttrumpetministries.org/tracts/tract1.html

      • I don’t like bunnies either. But I have no problem with Easter as long as people focus on Passion Week. I don’t know the origin of the English word “Easter,” i.e. why is it used instead of “Passover” in Acts? I’d have to check the OED. Yes, iron sharpens iron. 🙂

      • I skimmed the link. I don’t know what this person’s religious background is. He never names his sources either. Some of the material seems wrong to me. Yes, Nimrod is Babylon. But Cush = Ethiopia. Egypt came from Mithraim, a different son of Ham. A lot of that Nimrod death legend is Egyptian, not Babylonian. Tammuz doesn’t even show up in the Bible until Ezekiel.

      • Yeah i didnt use him as a definite source. Its a start as he had some of the legend. Nimrod os Babylonian tho as the tower of Babel was attributed to him. In Egypt it was Osiris, Isis and Horus. Babylon was Nimrod, His wife and when she bore a son it was Nimrod resurrected as his son. But anyway the Bible does use it. I feel it was for the Pagan ritual as it fell close to the passover. There not on the same day as the passover floats, not gregorian calendar. But anyway thats a very large subject. Thanks for looking into it. And thanks for the reply. I mostly use books for legends as the internet has a fine line with lies and myths.

      • I find ancient Egypt fascinating. I also prefer books to the Internet, although I use both. Books don’t contain everything. Both Passover and Easter float. The first is on a lunar calendar, the second on a solar one. And I don’t see anything wrong with the Gregorian calendar. I think the date for Easter each year boils down to this: it’s the first Sunday after the first full moon after the spring equinox.

        https://220lily.wordpress.com/2013/08/03/egypt-origin-and-destiny/
        https://220lily.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/egypt-a-lesson-before-dying/

      • I didnt know that. I knew passover was on the lunar as well as the Sabbath. I dont see anything wrong with our calendar either just stating it wasnt the same. I find Egypt, Samarian, and Israel all facinating, dont know must about Babylon as it blends in between Samaritan and Egyptian. Think it may have borrowed from both.

Leave a Reply

