2014 Grammys: Moral Cowardice

2014 grammys gay marriageI haven’t watched award shows in at least 10 years. I certainly didn’t watch the Grammys last night and I’m glad. Among other things, Katy Perry performed witchcraft and Queen Latifah officiated more than a dozen homosexual “marriages.”

Last night’s Grammy Awards turned into a diatribe against God and made a mockery of marriage. Queen Latifah presided over a mass wedding during the Grammys – featuring both gay and straight couples. … Macklemore rapped a diatribe against the church – as gays and lesbians locked lips. He accused pastors of preaching hate and called holy water poison. … They want our approval. … If you’ve got a problem with my views on marriage — take it up with God. He’s the one who came up with the rules, not me. (Todd Starnes)

The god of “same love” says no repentance and no savior is required. That god approves you just the way you are. The God of the Bible says you need repentance and salvation. That God will save you just the way you are. And He will take you to Himself and remake you into the image of His own dear son. But you must repent and you must believe. … The big question is not what you thought of Macklemore. The big question is which God you will believe in. The false god of “same love,” or the God and Father of the Lord Jesus Christ? (Denny Burke)

mandisa natalie-grantNatalie Grant walked out during the show. Mandisa didn’t attend. However, neither had the moral courage to speak out against the Satanic homosexuality and witchcraft on display. Natalie said on Twitter about her gay friends: “I have my convictions. They have theirs. And we can love each other.”

I can’t force my morality on anyone else. What I can do is live my life in such a way that reflects well on my Savior, stand firm in my values, and do all of these things in love. (Mandisa)

I’ve judged no one. I hate no one. …. And I believe that every person has been created in the image of God. I will never stand on a street corner and wave a sign, I won’t use my platform to engage in political arguments that will only divide and not unite. I will continue to pray that my life will be my message. I do have my own personal convictions that I live by. (Natalie Grant)

Mandisa and Tye Tribbett each won two Grammys last night, but who cares? We must seek an eternal prize, not a temporary one (1 Corinthians 9:24, Philippians 3:4). Winning awards from a godless world doesn’t say much about today’s Christian music.

Too few celebrity Christians are willing to tell sinners they’re going to hell unless they repent. They’ve abandoned the gospel for cultural relevance. Some have been given a divine platform to speak the truth, but unlike Queen Esther they refuse to use it (Esther 4:14). As I said in “Sodom: Cursing the Darkness,” those who don’t warn this generation of the righteous judgment to come may find their light and platform removed (Revelation 2:5). God’s kingdom will be taken from them and given to people who bear fruit (Matthew 21:43).

Sadly, imago dei has been misused and abused. All people are made in the image of God, but not all will enter heaven. The first imago dei is natural (Adam), the second spiritual (Jesus). We must be converted to Christ in order to bear his image and enter heaven. Why should any Christian focus on the natural imago dei when people must repent and be converted to the spiritual one?

Yes, truth divides. It’s not our morality, convictions, or values but God’s, through the Bible. All people are held accountable to this divine standard, whether or not they believe. We must stand up for and speak Biblical truth in this godless world.

9 thoughts on “2014 Grammys: Moral Cowardice

    • I’m judging them based on the Word. I actually preferred Mandisa’s honesty about being too much ‘of’ the world as well as ‘in.’ Natalie Grant, however, was anything but honest. She would not survive 1st-century Israel. Persecution would give her a rude awakening.

  1. Pingback: Worldliness | Morning Light

  2. Pingback: End Times Prophecy Headlines: May 28, 2014 | End Times Prophecy Report

  3. Pingback: Heresy: Michael Gungor | Arts & Culture

  4. Pingback: Heresy: Michael Gungor | Consider the Lilies

Leave a Reply

